‘Mc Timidity’

Posted on November 11, 2010

2


For my inaugural post here at Blasted Fools, I drew my inspiration from a recent story that has been widely circulated by the media, reporting on how the City of San Franfreeko has decided to poke their noses into what we consumers and parents can choose from McDonald’s while using children as the hostage for their Food Fascism. Here’s the story from the Columbus Dispatch. What interested me the most was the lukewarm response from McDonald’s.

“We are extremely disappointed with today’s decision. It’s not what our customers want, nor is it something they asked for,” McDonald’s spokeswoman Danya Proud said.

Needless to say, I thought that was lame and so I decided to attempt to stiffen their backbone a little.

I wrote:

This isn’t a question per se. I just want you to know that I find it disgusting that Mc Donalds is simply going to roll over and play dead for the City of San Francisco with respect to their crazy law, telling Mc Donalds what it can or can’t serve on its menu. San Francisco is a neo-Fascist city on a rampage, with an agenda to dictate to private citizens and business every aspect of their lives. They need to be stood up to – not caved in to. They are out of control and need to be stopped. I don’t have little children that I would be buying Happy Meals for, but I bought them 19 years ago and I can say that there has never been any health problem associated with my child having enjoyed them. We can’t have cities taking over the role of parents. You know what that leads to and it’s not a good place. Fight back – I will support you. I’ll start a petition if need be.

This is the typical public relations boilerplate nonsense I received back from ‘Jennifer’ at McDonald’s.

Thank you for sharing your comments with McDonald’s. We always appreciate hearing from our valued customers.

Please know that McDonald’s is extremely disappointed with the decision to ban Happy Meal toys in San Francisco, CA. While this legislation is paved with good intentions, parents tell us it’s their right and responsibility – not the government’s – to make their own decisions and to choose what’s right for their own children.

The simple fact remains, most people, including children, eat the vast majority of their meals at home – not in restaurants. Moreover, McDonald’s Happy Meals can be just as nutritionally balanced as school lunches or kid’s meals served at home. In fact, parents tell us they value the choices available at McDonald’s, including Apple Dippers, one percent low-fat milk, 100 percent apple juice, and Chicken McNuggets made with white meat.

We recognize and accept our role as leaders in the industry and remain committed to being a part of the solution.

Thank you again, for contacting McDonald’s. We hope to have the opportunity to serve you again soon.

Jennifer
McDonald’s Customer Response Center

McDonald’s doesn’t really want to hear back from anyone, no matter what their point of view is – unless you wish to go to the trouble to go back to the ‘Customer Response Center’ and send a follow up to yet another drone – who really aren’t allowed to think or do anything else than select the particular flaked and formed ‘McResponse’ that is appropriate to the topic matter and type your first name into the template. Here’s what I would have said in reply to anyone within their organization – (including Jennifer):

Jennifer,

Thank you for your reply, but I wasn’t asking you to defend your business practices with me. I think McDonald’s has made plenty of reasonable accommodations on their menu to appeal to and satisfy the diverse needs of their customers. I asked you what you were planning to do to stand up for my right as a customer to buy what I please from your menu without my choices being interfered with by the City and County of San Francisco. Not to be unduly argumentative, but I can’t agree with you that the legislation is paved with good intentions – far from it. I don’t know if you’ve given much thought to the fact that the Communitards that run San Francisco are not going to be satisfied with this win against McDonald’s and their customers. They smell blood in the water. You think they are through with this campaign of dictating consumer’s lifestyles? I assure you they are not. If you don’t fight back and draw a line in the sand now – you may lose all your stores in that entire region of California. And then after that, what will they turn their attention to next.

If you have decided to walk away from this, I’d at least like to hear what your reasons are for doing so. I meant what I said about mounting a citizen’s campaign to support McDonald’s in this. Please, not another boilerplate response – I really want to know how and if McDonald’s intends to resist this scandalous intrusion into people’s personal lives and purchasing decisions.

Here’s McDonald’s phone contact info, if you’d like to say your thing to them directly:

1-800-244-6227
7 days a week
7:00 a.m. to 7:00 p.m. CST

as for the real villains in this fable, here’s an actual link to the Frisco Board of StupidVisors:

http://www.sfbos.org/index.aspx?page=155

as that other famous Ronald (Reagan) once said,

“When you can’t make them see the light, make them feel the heat”

Posted in: Uncategorized