Words will never hurt me?

Posted on January 10, 2011

2


Now that a nut job by the name of Loughner (is that pronounced ‘Loner’, as in “Hey Loner, lookin’ for a …”) has snapped and committed a horrendous, seemingly random act – it seems that this event is going to be the premise behind a media campaign against conservatives and our inciteful and provocative speech.  Maybe if we just shut up, the Democrats can have the playing field of soundbites and talking points to themselves and gain back some lost traction with Americans who have been corrupted by the hate and incivility of the Tea Party and Republicans.   Well, I for one, am not accepting an invitation to that party.  All this lofty lamentation about the dangers of  ‘overheated rhetoric’ is far from convincing when you apply good old deductive reasoning to the circumstance.

Loughner, plain and simple, was / is a undiagnosed schizophrenic.  There are already numerous quotes attributed to him via acquaintances and emails and so forth that clearly fit an individual who has cognitive dissonance, who is incoherent and has a completely distorted perspective on reality.  How this translates to this individual being influenced by Fox News, Rush Limbaugh, the Tea Party, Sarah Palin or virtually anybody independent of the house of mirrors of his demented brain, is beyond comprehension – unless you are a Democrat or a leftist.   I seem to recall that an acquaintance of his from High School remembers him digging into the Communist Manifesto and Mein Kampf.

This campaign against the free expression of political ideas and 1st amendment rights, is shaping up to be a refuge for the Democrat party in opposition to those who counter their policies.   Here’s Steny Hoyer:

“I think the sheriff was right,” added Rep. Steny Hoyer, D-Md., who appeared on CBS’ “Face the Nation.”     “Bob, when you and I grew up, we grew up listening to essentially three major news outlets: NBC, ABC, and of course, CBS. We listened to people like Walter Cronkite and Eric Sevareid, and Huntley-Brinkley, and they saw their job as to inform us of the facts and we would make a conclusion,” Hoyer said. “Far too many broadcasts now and so many outlets have the intent of inciting, and inciting people to opposition, to anger, to thinking the other side is less than moral. And I think that is a context in which somebody who is mentally unbalanced can somehow feel justified in taking this kind of action. And I think we need to all take cognizance of that and be aware that what we say can, in fact, have consequences.”

Or, how about Dick Durbin – who can always be counted on to provide a germane and congruent analysis of current events:

It’s the responsibility of those in public life and the media to “try to bring down the rhetoric.  The phrase, ‘Don’t retreat; reload,’ putting crosshairs on congressional districts as targets. These sorts of things, I think, invite the kind of toxic rhetoric that can lead unstable people to believe this is an acceptable response,” he said.

Perhaps Mick Jagger and Keith Richards best illustrated the Democrat point of view in their song ‘Sympathy for the Devil’, where we hear the main antagonist unequivocally proclaim, “I shouted out who killed the Kennedy’s when after all, it was you and me”.    This tragic event and the Democrat instinctive response is a perfect storm of misplaced accountability.  It wasn’t Loughner, you understand.  It was unbridled conservative political speech and the free availability of semi-automatic pistols and large capacity magazine clips.  Get ready for another run at the Fairness Doctrine everybody.

Maybe I need to ‘take aim’ at a kinder, gentler Blasted Fools.  Maybe, I should ‘dispatch the name BlastedFools with extreme prejudice’.   I should put a ‘bullseye’ around my overheated rhetoric even though I haven’t fully exhausted ‘my ammo’ as far as arguments go.  I should ‘target’ my insensitivity and ‘torpedo’ my intolerance.  Most likely, I’ll consider ‘pulling the trigger’ on a new tone for this blog in order to be sure I’m not putting forth any ‘hollow points’.   It’s just when I hear stupidity being expressed, I tend to go ‘ballistic’.

It’s hopeless – the internet is just too dangerous.

Posted in: Sans Culottes