Davy and Andy – We hardly knew you

Posted on March 1, 2012

0


                                                                

A Supernova – A supernova is a stellar explosion that is more energetic than a nova.   Supernovae are extremely luminous and cause a burst of radiation that often briefly outshines an entire galaxy, before fading from view over several weeks or months. During this short interval a supernova can radiate as much energy as the Sun is expected to emit over its entire life span. The explosion expels much or all of a star’s material at a velocity of up to (10% of the speed of light), driving a shock wave into the surrounding interstellar medium. This shock wave sweeps up an expanding shell of gas and dust called a supernova remnant.

A non-technical description would be a star that is exceedingly bright, but whose life is much shorter in duration.  That would describe Davy Jones and Andrew Breitbart.

It’s  been a rough week for me, with the unexpected passing of two gentlemen that represented the best in their professional fields and in their personal character.   A couple of guys whose footsteps would be pretty worthwhile as a reliable path to follow.   A lot of poignant tributes have been written about both – so I don’t have anything new or definitive to add in that regard.  I can only offer personal reflection.

As to Davy Jones, I believe I first saw and heard him at the age of 10.  I’ve been a fan ever since.  There was a survey taken on people’s all time favorite songs by the Monkees and ‘Daydream Believer’ on which Davy sang lead, was right at the top.   I think it is notable in the world of rock music, when guys who rose to stardom in bands still have fond thoughts and memories of each other.  Look how many of the groups had ugly, bitter breakups and maintained feuds that never ended.  Not so with the guys from the ‘Pre-fab Four’.  For an example, here’s what Michael Nesmith had to say about Davy:

‘That David has stepped beyond my view causes me the sadness that it does many of you. I will miss him, but I won’t abandon him to mortality. I will think of him as existing within the animating life that insures existence. I will think of him and his family with that gentle regard in spite of all the contrary appearances on the mortal plane.     David’s spirit and soul live well in my heart, among all the lovely people, who remember with me the good times, and the healing times, that were created for so many, including us.  
I have fond memories. I wish him safe travels.”

Andrew Brietbart.  When I wanted to know what was happening in the world – anywhere, I knew I didn’t have to worry that I was going to be looking at old stories in the middle of the night, because Andrew covered the Graveyard Shift at Drudge.   That was an unintentional reference.  The thing, out of a lot of things that I really admired about Andrew, was that he didn’t fake agreeableness or civility.  If he caught a fake, a fraud or a phony in a lie, he went after them like a Rottweiler.  Andrew was among the most courageous fighters for truth, the rule of law and our American culture out there and he didn’t give an inch of ground.  The kind of guy that used to be said in the Old West that ‘you’d ride the river with’.

Of Andrew, Matt Drudge said today:

DEAR READER: In the first decade of the DRUDGEREPORT Andrew Breitbart was a constant source of energy, passion and commitment. We shared a love of headlines, a love of the news, an excitement about what's happening. I don't think there was a single day during that time when we did not flash each other or laugh with each other, or challenge each other. I still see him in my mind's eye in Venice Beach, the sunny day I met him. He was in his mid 20's. It was all there. He had a wonderful, loving family and we all feel great sadness for them today... MDRUDGE

These guys are irreplaceable.   It’s a bit of a shock, truly, when you see guys unexpectedly falling down so young in life.  It reminds us of the unfortunate truth that we don’t have the guarantee of another single day on this earth.  Take today and touch someone’s life for the better.  Davy and Andy would salute you.   We salute them.

Posted in: Great Americans