Fascists R’ Us

Posted on May 31, 2012

3


Mike Bloomberg.  I call him ‘Bloom-Burqa’.  I call him other things I can’t repeat here because this is a ‘family’ friendly blog site – sorta’ kinda.  Let’s just say that the name I have for him that is most apt, describes the drain pipe of the digestive tract.

Bloomberg is the pushy, nosey, busy body Fascist bastard exemplified by the stereotype of the dictatorial president of a HOA, or Home Owner’s Association.  On Steroids.  Don’t ever purchase property in one of those Stalinvilles.  You’ll regret it.  There is a certain personality disorder that is predisposed to ordering other people’s lives and those people will tie you in knots with their ‘thou shalt nots’.

BloomBurqa’s latest fetish is soda.  He’s got a hard on about whether you can decide for yourself where, when and how much soda you can drink.  His supporters will tell you that Mike means no harm.  It’s just that he knows what’s best for you better than you do.  I remember something about self appointed do gooders like Mike; that they have the turn by turn directions all coordinated for the ‘path to Hell’.

It used to be that Europe was the cradle of authoritarianism – and I guess they still are, but we are playing catch up to them with a vengeance.  The way government runs over in the United States of Europe is that politicians have set things up to where if there is ever any stirring of discontent from the eunuchs, excuse me, I mean citizens, they can just shrug their shoulders and say, “I’m sorry, I did not make that rule – that was decided by the Council on Health Affairs”.

Those non-elected agencies that are ruling and regulating people into a box have a nickname – ‘Quangos’.  ‘Quangos’ is shorthand for Quasi Autonomous – Non Governmental Organizations’.  They’ve essentially rendered the political parties and the voting process in Britain, meaningless.  Notice I didn’t say Great Britain.  It’s not great and hasn’t been for a long time.

Mike BloomBurqa is closing on the backstretch and picking up momentum as the finish line approaches.  The ban on soda purchases larger than 16 oz. is not something that will be affirmed by popular democracy or ratified by elected officials – but rather, by a stacked (by BloomBurqa) panel of ‘health commissioners’.  Isn’t that nice.  “We mustn’t let the proles weigh in on this, the ignorant little mice”.

In New York City, where more than half of adults are obese or overweight, Dr. Thomas Farley, the health commissioner, blames sweetened drinks for up to half of the increase in city obesity rates over the last 30 years. About a third of New Yorkers drink one or more sugary drinks a day, according to the city. Dr. Farley said the city had seen higher obesity rates in neighborhoods where soda consumption was more common.

This is bad science.  Obesity is not a simple factor of anything and certainly can’t be distilled down to a set of rules having to do with Sugar or soda or certain types of foods.  It’s actually a very complex equation and the reasons and solutions for the overweight condition very from one individual to another.  But that’s not the point.  The point is that what I decide to eat or drink is none of these people’s damn business.

BloomBurqa’s quote on this matter is quite revealing:

“We’re not taking away anybody’s right to do things. We’re simply forcing you to understand that you have to make the conscious decision to go from one cup to another cup,”

Interesting choice of terms – ‘forcing you to understand’.  It’s all about the force and the authority to do so, with this little baby Stalin.

Well, Mike – let me remind you of something.  You’re not my dad, he passed away 26 years ago.  You’re not my Mom either.  She advises me but I make my own decisions.  You are nobody to tell me what I’ll eat or drink or anything else, so get off your little Napoleonic complex and treat yourself, compliments of the house, to a nice, hot, steaming cup of STFU!!!!!!!!

This whole deal put a nasty edge on my disposition.  I think I’ll go get a nice, comforting drink with some sugar in it – that is if Mike doesn’t object.

