National Anthem Bugs Liberals

Posted on July 4, 2012

5


Breaking News!  Our National Anthem annoys Liberals and Progressives.  It gives them the creeps, nearly as much as does the Stars and Stripes.  Offends their little White Wine and Brie sensibilities.

Bill Press, who broadcasts to an  audience of I think 6 or 7 people, is case in point.  Bill, I’ve got at least three people here in the house including the dog, who would lie to the Arbitron people about listening to my show on the radio if I had one.  I could mop the floor with you, except I’m not liberal.  Ratings don’t count when it comes to LibTard Talk.

Bill doesn’t dig the Star Spangled Banner. Not because he’s not patriotic, you understand.  It’s simply because it’s a lousy piece of music according to him.  That’s the cover story, but when you dig a little deeper into the details of his comments, where the devil lives, it is clear that his passionate dislike of the National Anthem really has little or nothing to do with those pesky high octave notes.

It’s rather the mention of military valor and the apparatus thereof – Rockets, Bombs and brave men and women wielding the M-1’s and the Mossy Tactical 590’s, rubbing out terrorists and enemies of freedom.  One of the hallmarks of the liberal worldview is that nationalism is the inhibiting force holding back the Aquarian age of the elite utopia of peace, love and harmony – ‘pass me another toke off that spliff’. He’d like to hear something more akin to the ‘Land of the morally ambivalent’ and the ‘Home of the trepid’.  Here is what he was quoted saying on his ‘show’:

“It is a major crusade of mine and that is to get rid of the Star-Spangled Banner. Now I know you’re going to say I am not a true American I’m not patriotic. I don’t think patriotism has anything to do with it. The National Anthem is just absolutely monumentally un-singable. I mean there’s so much wrong with it. I don’t know where to start.  It’s an abomination. First it ranges two octaves most people can only do kind of one octave. I mean when you think about it, it’s bombs bursting in air rocket’s red glare it all kinds of, you know a lot of national anthems are that way, all kinds of military jargon and the land there’s only one phrase ‘the land of the free’ which is kind of nice and ‘the home of the brave?’ I don’t know,” he said. “Are we [Americans] the only ones who are brave on the planet? I mean all the brave people live here. I mean it’s just stupid I think. I’m embarrassed, I’m embarrassed every time I hear it.”

Well, Bill – don’t expect us to join you in your embarrassment of this country and its traditions.  America – at its worst, is the greatest nation to ever exist.  So, if you don’t care to lead or follow – just get the hell out of our way!

Studies have been conducted that demonstrate statistically that when young people are exposed to the stimulants of patriotic sentiment early and consistently, such as at Veteran’s Day, Memorial Day and 4th of July celebrations, they tend to go on in later life identifying themselves as conservatives and or Republicans.  Works for me!  Annoy a liberal today – sing or hum the National Anthem in whatever key is comfortable for you – just so long as it’s Francis Scott Key’s song.

Posted in: Useless Idiots