Blasted Incompetent Fools

Posted on October 16, 2012

0


We can all stop talking about Benghazi now because I issued a glib, insincere statement…alright?

What do they call that – an ‘S’ eating grin?

I frankly  didn’t intend to get into the Libya snafu – at least not specifically, because there’s just so much discussion of it elsewhere and I hate to flog something that has already been pretty well flogged.  But I changed my mind for two reasons:

One, is that I think this story actually has legs and its legs have a lot more kick in them.  The American media can’t throw a wet blanket over this, because the International media still thinks it’s a big news story.  And it is.

Secondly, my colleagues and I have been batting this around when we congregate around the ‘virtual water cooler’.  So, I thought I’d bring you in on it as well.  I’m talking about the interview Hillary Clinton gave to CNN within the last 24 hours.  The “I take responsibility” interview.

I’ll admit I got a little bent reading it and I spun off this rant before I even realized how angry I really was and am about this glib manner of pretending that “the buck stops here”, when in fact neither Hillary or anyone else is going to pay the price that Chris Stevens, Glen Doherty and Tyrone Woods did.

O.K., let’s break this down a little bit, shall we?  Here’s a key passage of Hill’s interview:

“In the wake of an attack like this, in the fog of war, there’s always going to be confusion,” Clinton said. “And I think it is absolutely fair to say that everyone had the same intelligence. Everyone who spoke tried to give the information that they had. As time has gone on, that information has changed. We’ve gotten more detail, but that’s not surprising. That always happens.”

This quote is rather amazing to me in a number of respects.  First “everyone had the same intelligence”.  That’s rather disturbing.  That means that from top to bottom, there is gross incompetency in terms of how State is handling and how it fundamentally does not understand Libya, North Africa and the Middle East as a whole.

Next, “Everyone who spoke, tried to give the information that they had”. 

Here’s a novel idea.  Just a suggestion Ms. Secretary.   How about instead of indulging CNN and the rest of the alphabet misinformation outlets with bullcrap you just pulled out of your ass; you say rather, “We are still gathering details on this incident and investigating the facts and as soon as we have FULL confirmation, we’ll release whatever information that won’t compromise the ongoing effort there”.   I didn’t even study Public Relations in College and I can see ‘fail’ like this a mile off!!

Finally, “As time has gone on, that information has changed”.  No it hasn’t.  NO…it hasn’t!  The ‘malarkey’ your spokesholes put out to the media has changed, but no credible source, including embedded reporters in Libya or Benghazi, EVER believed that this event was precipitated by a shlocky, goofass internet video!  Mixing in more disinformation in with a ‘buck stops here’ riff, does not a mea culpa make.

As for her comment, “that always happens”.  Ms. Secretary, that shouldn’t ‘always happen‘.  If it always happens, you’re incompetent, the people working for you are incompetent and the President is incompetent.  A pox on all your houses! 

People die because of this kind of stupidity.

