Who’s responsible for this!!!

Posted on June 28, 2012

3


Nope, it’s not them.

What I have to say today is not going to please many of you. Some, who read my posts regularly, will scratch me from the list permanently. That’s O.K. – I have to keep it real and not sugar coat the truth.
Today is Obama’s ‘Get out of Jail free card’ day. That is the last mention of him in this post. I’m going to lay the blame of today’s Supreme Court decision and the very existence of the ‘Affordable Care Act’ at the feet of the party that owns this travesty – and when I say party, I don’t mean a political party. I don’t mean the Democrats or the GOP. I mean ‘Conservatives’.   I mean us.
I know you’ll be angry with me, but if it cushions the blows any – all of what I’m about to say applies to myself as well. My wife and I made eye contact this morning and before she said anything, I told her that I know all about it. She asked me if I was shocked. I told her I was mildly surprised, but shocked? – no, not at all. The reason I say that, is because this is merely a logical progression of a process of momentum and accumulation.
The reason we now have an obligation to purchase a medical insurance policy that will not be affordable, will not be competitively valued, may not be needed by you and may not suit your needs is because ‘Conservatives’ dropped a Banana peel in your path and negligently let it lay there until just a moment before you stepped on it and broke your fool neck.
The fact of the matter is that this abortion of a piece of legislation, was dreamed up by the Heritage Foundation, and a lot of people whose every word you hang on, thought it was a wonderful idea. I’ll give it to you simply and directly from someone who was there when it happened – James Taranto:
Heritage did put forward the idea of an individual mandate, though it predated HillaryCare by several years. We know this because we were there: In 1988-90, we were employed at Heritage as a public relations associate (a junior writer and editor), and we wrote at least one press release for a publication touting Heritage’s plan for comprehensive legislation to provide universal “quality, affordable health care.
As a junior publicist, we weren’t being paid for our personal opinions. But we are now, so you will be the first to know that when we worked at Heritage, we hated the Heritage plan, especially the individual mandate. “Universal health care” was neither already established nor inevitable, and we thought the foundation had made a serious philosophical and strategic error in accepting rather than disputing the left-liberal notion that the provision of “quality, affordable health care” to everyone was a proper role of government. As to the mandate, we remember reading about it and thinking: “I thought we were supposed to be for freedom.”
Once the Obama Administration and Congressional Democrats started getting twitches in their leg about the prospects of even more growth of the Federal government with a healthcare mandate, then all of a sudden, the Heritage Foundation gets religion and disavows their support and sponsorship of it. Here they are trying to put the Genie back into the bottle:
If citations to policy papers were subject to the same rules as legal citations, then the Heritage position quoted by the Department of Justice would have a red flag indicating it had been reversed. . . . Heritage has stopped supporting any insurance mandate.”
Let me ask you this. Who do you blame for letting the Genie out of the bottle?  You blame whoever pulled out the stopper, don’t you? We broke it – now we’re going to be paying for it. The conservative blogosphere and talk radio and everything else is going to be moaning and lamenting and vowing to thwart the Democrats and ‘by Zeus, this will not stand! We’re going to fight it, repeal it,’. Blah, blah, blah.
Where were all these people when the Republicans and George Bush enacted the Senior Prescription coverage plan?   George Bush was the counterfeit conservative President – as was his father – and whenever anyone dared  to take a look at the bill under the light to check if it was authentic or not, the ‘Bush Bots’ descended like an armored division and accused them of ‘not supporting the President’ – i.e., you’re not being patriotic.  Whose side are you on?’
George Bush, you see, is fighting a War on Terror and he has a free pass to do whatever he and the GOP see fit to do. That was the deal. Obama’s just walking in George Bush’s shoes – nothing more.  Why the hell are we so shocked?  Players will play, and gamers will game the system. What else do you expect?
So, this has nothing to do with principal and has everything to do with political posturing for the sake of partisan political advantage. That is what Washington DC is all about – nothing else.
The following is not something I made up or imagined. This was an exchange between Romney and Gingrich at one of the GOP Presidential debates. They both had dirty hands, and they both ran away from their culpability as fast as their legs could carry them.
ROMNEY: Actually, Newt, we got the idea of an individual mandate from you.
GINGRICH: That’s not true. You got it from the Heritage Foundation.
ROMNEY: Yes, we got it from you, and you got it from the Heritage Foundation and from you.
GINGRICH: Wait a second. What you just said is not true. You did not get that from me. You got it from the Heritage Foundation.
ROMNEY: And you never supported them?
GINGRICH: I agree with them, but I’m just saying, what you said to this audience just now plain wasn’t true.
ROMNEY: OK. Let me ask, have you supported in the past an individual mandate?
GINGRICH: I absolutely did with the Heritage Foundation against Hillarycare.
ROMNEY: Oh, OK. That’s what I’m saying. We got the idea from you and the Heritage Foundation.
GINGRICH: OK.  A little broader.
ROMNEY: OK
Notice how they both want to argue over who has been wallowing around in the mud like a happy sow?   “You didn’t get it from me”. “Yes I did!” “No you didn’t”  “Did so”.  “Did not!”
My God, and you tell me you want this to run the country?  These aren’t adults.  They’re going to get your country back for you?  Are you out of your mind!
Am I a little bit angry today?  I’d be lying if said otherwise – but mostly I’m disgusted. Unless we take a hard look in the mirror to see what role we’ve played in this latest in a series of catastrophes – unless we admit we have a problem and take ownership, there is no way we can succeed in ‘rehab’.  Oddly enough – and as much as we smirk when we hear it, there is a lot of profound meaning in Obama’s expression, “We are the one’s we’ve been waiting for”.
Are you waiting for a Moses to come along and pull your tail out of a crack?  Are you hoping a ‘leader will emerge?’  Let me quote Boz Scaggs,
“Same old schoolboy game got you into this mess
Hey son better get back to town – face the sad old truth of the dirty lowdown”
So, here’s the dirty lowdown, straight up, no chaser. If you keep trusting the parasites in Washington DC, who constantly have their hand out looking to you to fund their efforts against this or that outrageous power grab cooked up on the Hill, you’ll continue to suffer disappointment. Because at the end of the day, they are in the business of fundraising – not solving problems. You, yeah, you – you are the one you’ve been waiting for. Not Romney, not Boehner, not John Roberts, not Eric Cantor, not Paul Ryan, not Ron Paul.
You.
Starting today, each and every solicitation that I can identify as having originated from some Beltway .org outfit or think tank, is going straight to junk. I’m finished. I don’t know if there is any chance to stop this runaway train, but if there is – it won’t be because some Congressman, Senator or Presidential candidate promises to handle it for us. Wake up and stop being naïve!
The rest of you – disregard this altogether. I don’t want to distract anyone from the next concert, the next sporting event, American Idol or whatever diversions might be taking up your valuable time instead of preparing for battle. We keep talking and complaining in our ‘alternative media conservative ghetto’, while the enemies of freedom set fire to the ground beneath our feet.
Maybe we got lulled back to sleep by the GOP Establishment, thinking “OK, we’re done with the rallies now, they’ll handle it from here”. No they didn’t and no, they won’t. Neither the Democrats or the Republicans benefit from smaller government. Washington DC isn’t wired that way. If they suggest otherwise, they’re lying – which is something as natural to them as breathing.
The 4th of July is coming up and I’m confident in saying that the average citizen in this country couldn’t buy a damn clue about what that holiday is about, what it means or what the significance of it is. You want to know what the real size of the movement for freedom is? Let me illustrate it this way for you.
During the American Revolution, the active forces in the field against the King’s tyranny never amounted to more than 3% of the colonists. They were in turn actively supported by perhaps 10% of the population. In addition to these revolutionaries were perhaps another 20% who favored their cause but did little or nothing to support it. Another one-third of the population sided with the King (by the end of the war there were actually more Americans fighting FOR the King than there were in the field against him) and the final third took no side, blew with the wind and took what came.
So, essentially, most folks waved and blew a kiss to the freedom fighters, wished them good luck and waited to see which side of the bread was going to get buttered. I’m not confident that if push came to shove today, that there would even be as many committed to rebellion as there were then. The ‘King’ has used a different tactic this time around. He’s got a majority of people on entitlement programs that they might have to give up if they stand in favor of the Constitution.
We were talking about the SCOTUS ruling during a family lunch today. My wife and son were pointing out the eventual unsustainability of this healthcare bill. My wife asked me how all of this could possibly work. I asked her, “How did the Soviet Union turn out?” She said, “exactly”. That’s it – that’s how it is going to end.
What’s your next line in the sand?